SIGN IN   Advanced Search

Browse Illustration
C. elegans Muscle Groups

The major muscle groups of Caenorhabditis elegans hermaphrodites. The major muscle cell types in the hermaphrodite are shown schematically in this lateral view of the animal with anterior to the left and dorsal to the top. At top, are the 95 bodywall muscles (BWMs), the somatic muscle providing locomotive force for the animal. Dark red cells reflect the 81 embryonically derived cells with lighter red shading used to indicate the approximate location of the 14 post-embryonically derived cells. The BWM cells run in four quadrants along the length of the animal; only one side is schematized. At the bottom are several additional muscle cell groups. The pharynx (orange) pumps food into the gut while the enteric muscles (blue) control defecation. The egg-laying muscles are comprised of those controlling the opening of the vulva (vms, in green) and extrusion of zygotes by contraction of uterine muscles (purple). The only muscles of the hermaphrodite not depicted are the gonadal sheath cells. WIREs Dev Biol 2012. DOI: 10.1002/wdev.15 References Krause, M., Liu, J. Somatic muscle specification during embryonic and post-embryonic development in the nematode C. elegans. WIREs Dev Biol, 2012, 1:203-214.

Rate this Resource:
1 = not useful, 5 = very useful

Please be the first to rate this resource.

View Free


Resource Type: Diagram, Illustration
Audience Level: Undergraduate upper division (Grades 15-16), Graduate

Author and Copyright

Authors and Editors: Michael W Krause of NIH, Jun Liu of NIH
Publisher: SDB
Format: text/html
Copyright and other restrictions: No
Cost: No


» Sign In or register to post comments.

Society for Developmental Biology



Triple A S National Science Foundation Naitonal Science Digital Library Pathway
Funded by the individual BEN Collaborators and grants from the
National Science Foundation [DUE 0085840 / DUE 0226185 / DUE 0532797 / DUE 0734995]

This website is a National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Pathway.
Copyright © 2019. American Association for the Advancement of Science. All Rights Reserved.